CARVE-OUT OF AN ENERGY SUPPLIER

CARVE-OUT OF AN ENERGY SUPPLIER

6. October 2017

Background

 

In the context of a re-municipalisation, a large energy corporation was selling its majority share in a regional energy supplier to various local authorities. However, there were extensive changes connected to this carve-out which had to be managed carefully.

 

Starting Point

 

A regional energy supplier in Westphalia changed from an energy corporation into a medium sized company after the carve-out. Detaching all the company’s necessary components and areas was a complex task. During the transition, the process-IT as an encapsulated area, was a relatively straightforward task, while for the business areas (shared services of grid, HR, IT) it was necessary to find a new service provider. Our commitment to this project had already begun by accompanying a tender process for the biggest segment – the shared services of grid commerce.

 

Characteristic

 

Preparing the tender was already a very demanding project. A considerable adjustment effort resulted from the fact that the former energy corporation had a very complex and customised system topography. The migration of enormous amounts of data from the old to the new service provider, including the adjustment to very different data structures, was certainly one of the greatest challenges. Similarly, it was necessary to adjust the commercial grid processes and feeder structures, as well as accounting procedures. Nevertheless, we successfully organised and accompanied all those stages of this highly complex project.

 

Implementation

 

In order for this cut-over from the old to the new service provider to run smoothly, extensive and very thorough preparatory work was crucial. The smooth transition was extremely important because the Federal Network Agency had made extremely strict requirements with regard to market communication and balancing rules. This was so successful that not only did the end customers not notice the change, but also the sometimes very complex invoicing with the new service provider in the background was carried out immediately and correctly.

 

Customer Benefit

 

This project concerned the core business of our client and it was absolutely critical for him that it was successful. By changing the service provider our client profited from more attractive conditions and moreover, his processes were noticeably simplified. With the present standard solution, employees can work more quickly, simply and cost-effective – which will benefit the final client. Thus, we could sustainably reinforce the basis for further very positive business development.

Branche: Energy
Unternehmensgröße: 70.000 MA
Laufzeit: 23 Month
Rolle: Project Manager
Komplexität: ******

Carve-Out eines Energieversorgers 

Carve-Out eines Energieversorgers 

6. Oktober 2017

Hintergrund 

Im Zuge der Rekommunalisierung hat ein großer Energiekonzern seine Mehrheitsbeteiligung an einem regionalen Energieversorger an verschiedene regionale Kommunen veräußert. Mit diesem Carve-Out sind allerdings erhebliche Veränderungen verbunden, die zuverlässig gemanagt werden wollen.

Ausgangslage 

Ein regionaler Energieversorger im Westfälischen wird durch den Carve-Out aus einem Energiekonzern wieder ein mittelständisches Unternehmen. Das Herauslösen aller zum Betrieb notwendigen Komponenten und Bereiche stellt eine komplexe Aufgabe dar. Während die Umstellung der Prozess-IT als gekapselter Bereich relativ gradlinig ablief, musste für die Business-Bereiche (Shared Services des Netzgeschäftes, HR, IT) ein neuer Dienstleister gefunden werden. Unser Engagement in diesem Projekt begann bereits mit der Begleitung der Ausschreibung für den größten Teil – den Shared Services des Netzgeschäftes.

Besonderheit 

Die Erstellung der Ausschreibung ist schon für sich allein ein sehr anspruchsvolles Projekt. Erheblicher Anpassungsaufwand ergab sich daraus, dass der bisherige Energiekonzern sehr komplexe und individuell angepasste Systemlandschaft betreibt. Die Migration der riesigen Datenmengen vom alten auf den neuen Dienstleister inklusive der Anpassung auf ganz unterschiedliche Datenstrukturen war sicherlich eine der größten Herausforderungen. Ebenso galt es die netzwirtschaftlichen Prozesse anzupassen – im Besonderen aufgrund der großen Unterschiede von Abrechnungs- und Einspeiser-Strukturen, sowie Bilanzierungsprozessen. Doch auch diese Phasen dieses insgesamt sehr komplexen Projekts haben wir erfolgreich gestaltet und begleitet.

Umsetzung 

Damit dieser Cut-Over von dem Alten auf den neuen Dienstleister reibungslos ablaufen konnte, war eine umfangreiche und sehr gründliche Vorarbeit entscheidend. Weil seitens der Bundesnetzagentur äußerst strenge Forderungen hinsichtlich der Marktkommunikations- und Bilanzierungsregeln gestellt werden, war der fließende Übergang extrem wichtig. Dies gelang so gut, dass nicht nur die Endkunden nichts vom Wechsel bemerkt haben, sondern auch die teils sehr komplexe Rechnungsstellung mit dem neuen Dienstleister im Hintergrund sofort korrekt ablief.

Kundennutzen 

Dieses Projekt betraf das Kerngeschäft unseres Auftraggebers und war damit für ihn absolut erfolgskritisch. Durch den Wechsel des Dienstleisters profitiert unser Auftraggeber nicht nur von sehr viel attraktiveren Konditionen, auch seine Prozesse haben sich auch deutlich vereinfacht. Mit den jetzigen Standardlösungen können die Mitarbeiter sehr viel schneller, einfacher und kostengünstiger arbeiten – was wiederum den Endkunden zugutekommt. Insofern konnten wir die Basis für die künftige deutlich positive Geschäftsentwicklung nachhaltig stärken.

Branche: Energie
Unternehmensgröße: 70.000 MA
Laufzeit: 23 Monate
Rolle: Project Manager
Komplexität: ******